This link was presented to me today by Facebook and I couldn’t help myself — I had to download the pages that had my name on it.

Pretty much all three of my submitted works for the yearbook were published. I don’t know if it was because they (the editorial board for the Fides, our high school yearbook) actually liked it or because there were no other submissions. Needless to say, it doesn’t matter now.

High school was pretty tough, though at that time I didn’t really see it that way. I do remember feeling relieved that it was finally over, and I haven’t felt the need to see my former classmates. It still does amaze me that we spent four years of our young lives together, learning, working together, competing against others and with each other, growing up… and yet, I don’t think any one of them really knew me.

Then again, I don’t really know them, so all’s fair.

Anyway, you’d see that one of my nicknames was project maker. I feel the need to explain this. See, I love projects, especially book reports. I also happen to love and need money at that time. I remember I was almost always hungry back in high school, because I only had P100 as my pocket money (P60 goes to my fare) and I don’t get to pack food for myself because, well, I just couldn’t. Anyway, I got to combine these two loves and ended up a couple of bucks richer.

I was also known as a writer; English was my forte. But even then I knew, and so did the others since I was pretty open about it then, that I would be a teacher.

Funny how life turns out almost exactly as you want it to

Leave a Reply

