Dear Ex – Friend,

Hi. How are you? I hope you’re doing fine. Seriously. I do hope you’re okay, that whatever it is you’re doing in your life, you’re doing it because you want to and it makes you happy.

I guess you may be wondering why I am writing you right now. Well, to be honest, it’s more for me than for you really. See, I’m trying to move on from our failed friendship, and I figured, what better way to do that but by writing you a farewell letter. The chances of you getting to read this is closer to none, but I don’t care, because this is my way of letting you — us — go.

I wonder if you can remember how we became friends. Was it because of proximity? Was it because you thought I was friendly? Was it because you saw in me something you liked? Was it something I said or did or was? 

Whatever it was that made you call and/ or consider me as your friend, I would like to thank you. I know it’s a belated thanks, and may even be considered a wasted one since we are no longer friends, but thanks nonetheless. I truly believe that you were sent my way (or I was sent your way) for a reason, and the time we were friends was the time we were supposed to be friends. And no matter what has transpired between that moment we became friends to the moment our friendship ended, the laughter, love and learning we shared in between will remain in my heart, for as long as I live.

I’d also like to say sorry now, for how things ended. I don’t really remember much of how it went, but I do remember that it wasn’t easy. Endings never are. I do confess to having shed a tear or two, when I lost you. And there were moments when I wondered, maybe we can still recover from whatever happened. Maybe there was still hope for a reconciliation. Maybe, this is just a test that we had to pass.

But then, later, and even now on hindsight, I have to admit, losing you, and ending our friendship, was also the right thing to do, and one the best decisions I had to make. I guess you can say that the old cliche about sometimes the right thing to do is the most difficult thing to do (or something like that) is true, which is why it is a cliche.

I do hope that you are indeed in a place in your life where you are happy. Because even if we are longer friends, I still believe you deserve happiness. I will continue praying for you, and I ask, if it’s not so much of trouble, for you to do the same for me.

Lastly, I hope you know that even if our friendship no longer exists, the fact that it once did, and that it had changed my life for the better and helped me become the person I am now, is something I will forever cherish in my heart.  

Take care.

B

Leave a Reply

