On Jessica Jones

Okay so I watched Jessica Jones last month and loved it, but not enough to write about it. Better late than never right?

I’m not going to pretend I understand what those comic book fans have against the show. I loved it. I loved it more than I liked Daredevil. Who am I kidding? Daredevil was B-O-R-I-N-G. I wanted to finish the show just so I can know how it’ll end. The only part of Daredevil I liked was the villain, and I can’t even remember his name now. And no, I don’t feel like googling it either.

But Jessica Jones… Jessica Jones was sexy, feiry, pscyhologically terrifying and quite frankly, bad-ass. Other superhero shows with female stars haven’t crossed the threshold that Jessica had.

What I particularly loved about the show is the consistency of the characters. Jessica was tough because she was living in fear of the Purple Man. The Purple Man was a scary, crazy lunatic. Jessica’s relationship with Luke Cage made her vulnerable consistently throughout the 13-episodes. Jessica’s best friend Trish Walker is more than just a pretty face, and is indeed the best friend someone Jessica can have.

What else can I say. I just love it.

I’m looking forward to more female-driven superhero shows coming out: Gal Gadot’s “Wonder Woman”, Marvel’s “Agent Carter” starring Hayley Atwell, and even the supervillains like Margot Robbie’s Harley Quinn in “The Suicide Squad”.

It’s high time women get their share of the spotlight.

Leave a Reply

