17 Signs You’re A True Ravenpuff

I recently got re-sorted to Hupplepuff house (from Gryffindor, originally) and then I took a test for hybrid houses and got Ravenpuff. Because I just love MBTI, I googled it and found out that INFJs like me are typically hybrid Ravenpuffs. To seal the deal with this once and for all (because this is just so important to me, you know!), I got this list, and I have to say, it’s pretty on point, and because it is, I just feel… better.

Here are the 17 Signs that I am a True Ravenpuff:

1. Your brain is always fighting between the earnest and the critical.

Heck yeah! I particularly don’t like confrontations, so I try really hard to be PC with my choice of words, but sometimes — okay, a lot of times — my emotions take control of me and the way I vocalize my thoughts and opinions may, at times, come out combative, or worst, rude. In my defense, I don’t make attacks on the person, but on his or her opinion/ idea. If he/ she takes it personally, well… that’s not in my control, though I often end up feeling guilty that s/he did anyway. Which is really annoying, to be honest.

2. As a result, other people sometimes have a hard time telling when you’re being earnest vs. when you’re being sarcastic or wry.

As a rule I try not to be sarcastic, because I don’t think it really serves the purpose of communication, i.e. to get your ideas across. It just makes you feel superior about your “intelligence” by making others feel inferior because they just don’t get it. But then, if your goal is for them to get it, getting sarcastic makes you’ve given up, therefore, failed. I’ve met and know a lot of people who call themselves educators who are like this. Yes, I know we’re all human, but I can’t not hold it against them, this time personally. I have to admit though, sometimes, we just meet people who are just so dense, it can’t be helped.

3. You’re not uber competitive — except for with yourself.

So true. I really want to be a better me, every day, every month, every year. I want to keep growing. I think I am. In my own pace. Everyone has their own stories, and I’m happy for those who got what they wanted, or where they needed to be. I look at their stories as inspiration, as motivation to keep fighting for what I want, and to get where I should be. This is why I give myself a really hard time when I get lazy or procrastinate.

4. You find yourself very attracted to fandom, where dedication and overthinking are both welcomed and encouraged.

This made me miss my old blog again. I’ve written so much stuff about the fandoms I belonged to in that blog, but sadly, they’re all gone. No regrets though. For the record I am a Directioner, a Oncer, and this should go without saying, a Potterhead.

5. You spend an inordinate amount of time trying to surround yourself with people who are both fiercely intelligent and steadfastly kindhearted.

It’s a tough search, but not impossible. When I was in high school, I was a fish out of water, and I knew it. It wasn’t that they weren’t intelligent, because we all were (which is why we were scholars of the university). Nor were they unkind. It was just that their type of intelligence weren’t similar to mine, and they were not kind to me, because I was, for the most part of high school, a loner. And I really did prefer it that way, but the peer pressure of being part of a group, especially since we were in a blocked section for four years, was pretty tough to live with. To this day, whenever I think of high school, I get this sense of pride that I survived it without too much resentment. At the very least, I realized that I was unhappy and dealt with it, and moved on. Now I keep company of like-minded, kindhearted friends. Quality over quantity, as always.

6. Blending the highbrow with the lowbrow is your jam — it’s just automatically what your brain does.

I have to be honest: I had to google what the hell highbrow and lowbrow means. And yeah, I do this. I am a teacher.

7. You’re constantly torn between voicing your opinion and not stepping on anyone else’s toes.

I try not to care what others think, but as I’ve learned this year, I actually do. Which is really annoying, to be honest. Still, I consider myself assertive and confident enough to have an opinion that I will stick with. If others take offense, and choose to carry the resentment within by not speaking up, well, that’ll be their problem. If they choose to discuss it, though, I am all ears.

8. And you’re constantly torn between your own stubbornness and your values of open-minded tolerance.

This reminds me of that day America declared same-sex marriage legal and the hashtag Love Wins became so popular. I supported this move and felt really lucky to have witnessed this revolutionary shift. However, to my surprise, a gay friend of mine who happens to be a religion teacher as well, was not in support. I made the wrong assumption that he will be, because, well, he is gay. Apparently, he puts higher premium with the teachings of the Church, and even if he IS homosexual, he’s cannot support gay marriage. I still don’t understand it, to be honest. We got into a long discussion on Facebook, and then a friend of his step in and I guess he took offense of my assuming that all gays would be celebrating with the world, and began ranting about it. I don’t know this friend of his personally, though I know he too is gay. The two of them were firm with their beliefs, and I admired them for that, but mostly I felt bad for them. From the way I saw it, they were living in denial, as if they were punishing themselves for being, well, who they are. I wanted to understand them, but they were so darn defensive about it, it was like every question or comment I made was taken as an insult. It ended up with me proposing that we agree to disagree, which both of them stubbornly didn’t want to accept, because they wanted me to agree with them, but I was too stubborn to do so. I still consider my friend a friend, though we haven’t spoken, either in FB or in person for quite some time. That episode opened my eyes to a point of view I didn’t know existed, and I still find it a sad perspective. As much as I would want to understand that there are apparently gay people out there who would choose to live under the rules of the straight people (pertaining to the right to get married, particularly), I just don’t. Love is love is love, no matter what gender, color, or age you may be.

9. You try to use your creativity to benefit others wherever you can.

I’ll be the last person to say that I am creative. More like resourceful. Passionate. Determined. But not creative per se. Which is why I have a very high respect for creative peope. I do get extra motivated to explore and improve my creativity when it is needed, like for class discussions or team-building activities.

10.You can’t help but jump in on debates.

Pretty much what I wrote in # 8.

11. It frustrates you when people aren’t willing to debate pros and cons.

T-charts are my tool of choice when making a decision. I like knowing both sides of the coin, which is contradictory to my impetuousness but yeah, that’s just the way it is. When people don’t act rationally, it gets on my nerves, yes, BUT if they can explain why they acted/ reacted the way they did RATIONALLY, I may let them off the hook. (This applies to my pupils, mostly).

12. And when people aren’t willing to traverse through the nuances of every situation.

Like, why are you in a hurry? We all see the big picture. It’s pretty big. Let’s get into the nitty – gritty. (To be clear though, I don’t do this on EVERY situation, just those that leave an impact on me, which is often a lot.)

13. But you have a hard time letting go of a debate until people understand.

When I told my friend and his angry friend (see # 8) that we should just have to agree to disagree, I was doing it because I knew there was no point in convincing them to change their opinion, as they were both out to change mine. It was a lose-lose situation. So I chose to make it a win-win, but not happily. I do think they understood why I made that assumption, and that’s pretty good for me.

14. Sometimes this gets the best of you when you act morally superior or like a know-it-all.

Guilty, but yeah. It’s the way I am made. I also know when I meet someone who is the same way because we get into an argument about a really silly point. Thankfully (I think), this isn’t often. Just usually with my mom.

15. You have a rock solid work ethic, but only for the things you’re really passionate about. This can become a pain in the ass while in required classes.

This cracked me up, knowing that this year is the best example of what could happen when my heart is just not in my work. It also makes me feel a bit relieved, knowing that the fire in teaching that has driven me in the beginning to work hard and do good work, isn’t altogether gone. Just missing. For now.

16. Finding a career/path you’re genuinely passionate about was of utmost importance to you because you knew how much energy one you weren’t into would drain you.

Very INFJ of me.

17. You’re constantly contradicting yourself, your opinions, and rethinking your place in the world.

Hence, my being Bexx Paradox.

17 Signs You’re A True Ravenpuff

Leave a Reply

