So this happened today! My, what a pageant. And that plot twist!

I can’t stop watching this video. It’s like a car crash you can’t not watch over and over. It was totally unexpected. Even with all the mess up of the organizers, first with their website crashing (therefore not allowing the fans to vote for their favorites), then to the unnecessary commentaries of that lady, to the very long reveal of the top 15. We were rooting for Pia Alonzo Wurtzbach, and I knew she had it in her. She never gave up on her dream, trying out for the Bb. Pilipinas three times!

She got the highest votes in both the Swimsuit and Evening Gown portions, and she was so poised in answering a very tough question. When she got to the Top 3, and had to answer the super gasgas question of why she should be Ms. Universe, I was sure she’d get it. Even so, my heart was beating really fast. We’ve had experiences of disappointments before (two words: Olivia Culpo) , but it just wouldn’t make sense if she loses.

So when Steve Harvey called Ms. USA as second-runner up, I was happy. She was buckling in her Q&A and I really think there were some bias there, somewhere. But I digress. I had predicted Ms. Colombia will be the ultimate competition. She was too beautiful to be real, honestly.

image

But Pia was perfection.

image
image
image

And then Steve calls Ms. Colombia as Ms. Universe, and 

e v e r y t h i n g s t o p p e d. 

Seriously.

I couldn’t comprehend what was happening. 

My mom was asking “Totoo ba ito? (Is this real?)” and I was saying “Baka nagkamali ng basa? (Maybe he misread it?)" 

We were in denial, and it felt like the rest of the world (who were watching, and live tweeting on Twitter), were as well. We stood there, in front of the TV, dumbfounded, confused, angry, hurting, in pain, close to tears… seriously, I am not joking… It was just wrong!

Then Steve says he needs to apologize and I SCREAMED!!!

THIS WAS NOT HAPPENING!
YOU DIDN’T JUST CALL THE WRONG PERSON AS THE WINNER AND NOW TELL US THAT SHE WASN’T!
YOU DIDN’T JUST STEAL AWAY OUR WINNING MOMENT! 
YOU DON’T DO THAT!
YOU JUST DON’T!!!

I was torn between celebrating for Pia’s well-deserved win and feeling really bad for Ms. Colombia. That was the worst TV moment ever this year. Seriously. Definitely the most awkward…

All’s well now though. Steve has apologized (with correct spelling this time) and as bad as I feel for Ms. Colombia, I’m just happy it wasn’t the other way around… because all hell would have broken loose if you de-crowned our Ms. Philippines in front of the world!

CONGRATULATIONS PIA WURTZBACH! AND TO ALL OF US!
42 YEARS OF WAITING, AND NOW WE’VE GOT THE CROWN BACK TO THE PHILIPPINES!!! HOOORAAAY!

*summersault* *tumbling* *cartwheels* *all done mentally because I can’t*

image
Leave a Reply

