RIP TO MY OVARIES

I. Regret. Nothing.

So I took a day off work because I wasn’t “feeling well” and then it became real, and I’m not sure if it was karma or the fact that I was watching Magic Mike XXL. It might be both. I have a funny feeling all over me, and it’s both the good and bad kind, so I might take another day off tomorrow. I’m not sure; I don’t know the future. We’ll see.

Anyway, the movie is now one of my all-time favorites, but I feel the need to explain why. 

TAKE NOTE: If you’re one of my students, current or former, and you’re still in the middle of the wonderful and miserable time of adolescence, I’d like to advice you to hold off from seeing this movie (though I guess you can and probably have seen the first one, which is tamer compared to this, and everything I am writing right now is just making you want to see it, but I feel like I should still say/ write it), mostly because it’s going to confuse/ overwhelm/ excite/ entice the hell out of you. I have a feeling the next time I decide to watch this again, it’s going to do all of the aforementioned to me (which is why I am writing this review now, instead of later).

On to the reasons why this movie is GOLD: Well, apart from the super AWESOME casting with their super AWESOME chemistry, the epic(ally racy) choreography, the fun(ny) dialogue and the fact that Channing Tatum is in it, I love how one of it’s many core messages/ values (the fact that they have more than one is one more reason, btw!) is the empowerment of women and the celebration of OUR collective sexuality. And that’s something unique and powerful and really well-thought of. Because really, a movie about five strippers/ male entertainers, eager to get one last hurrah before they face on the real world i.e. their DREAMS i.e. leave the LIFE they’ve known and enjoyed for YEARS, could have gone to the dark side, but it didn’t! Instead, it became one of the best movies of 2015 for people who are tired of being hindered by what is okay and not okay when it comes to sexuality, in my opinion.

And even though I won’t be showing this to my students in the near future (because really, that’ll be destructive rather than constructive), I’d probably recommend this to people who have a hard time remembering how great they are, no matter how they feel about themselves.

Male, female, gay, straight, bi, trans, gender fluid, whatever you may be, and I may not understand it all, but I do understand how IMPORTANT it is to EMBRACE who you really are, in order for you to succeed, and more importantly, be happy. It’s just like what I’ve been rereading this last few days: “Where you heart is, that is where you treasure is.” (Paulo Coelho’s “The Alchemist”)

We also see in this movie a vast number of women of different sizes and hair color and fashion sense and backgrounds. (Though, I didn’t see much Asian women, though I might be wrong.) This is a great message for future film  makers, musicians, artists and the like, to spread out their own definition of what is and isn’t beautiful. Because just like what Jada Pinkett-Smith’s character said: “We are all Queensand we should be pretty damn proud of that!

I can talk about this movie all day if someone would let me, but I do have a nasty headache right now and I think I need to lie down for a while…

Leave a Reply

