TMFU

image

When I saw that the Man from U.N.C.L.E. starred Armie Hammer, I knew it was the movie I was going to see. Of course, Henry Cavill A.K.A. modern day Superman is also ridiculously hot, but Armie’ voice just gets to certain parts of me…

Anyway, I had no idea what this movie was about. All I knew was that it is a Guy Ritchie film, and he was married to Madonna so he MUST be a bit eclectic. Later I learned it is a 1960s spy story, and the opening sequence didn’t disappoint. I didn’t know it was actually a TV show first, and that the characters were well-loved icons of their time (or something like it). I did read somewhere that this movie’s only flaw was that it came out the same day/ week as Tom Cruise’s “Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation”. I like the MI franchise, though I do think Tom is the most overrated Hollywood actor of my time. 

But because I’m all for cheering on the underdog, plus Armie Hammer was in this movie so…

Now, what were my thoughts while watching the movie? Well, they were mostly positive.

I love the cinematography of the movie. It was so vintage-y, so European, so posh. I loved the clothes too, and the music, especially near the end part. The zooming and panning of the camera did make me feel a bit dizzy, but I think it was probably the intention, sort of like get a taste of what the characters are probably feeling.

Of course, I loved the action. Especially the parts where Armie gets all beast mode. It’s so dangerously sexy. (NTS: Violent people are NOT always sexy. People like Armie Hammer is sexy to begin with, and when he goes gorilla mode, he’s lucky that it even makes him more so.)

There are only two downsides to this movie: (1) I’m not very good with non-American accents, and there were scenes where they talk (Illya with his thick Russian accent and Gabby with her — was it French? — accent) in English that I wished they added subtitles; and (2) it was somewhat predictable, from an avid crime drama fan, to know that *SPOILERS* Gabby will betray them… but not really. The only part that surprised me was when Veronica killed Gabby’s father. That was mean, even for her.

That said, I will wait for the inevitable sequel of this flick, though I don’t know how much it has earned since opening night. I’m hoping a follow-up happens so Illya and Gabby can finally get it on with it … 

image

…and Napoleon gets it all off. *drooling*

image

RATING: 4.2 / 5 honey stars


Could someone please explain to me why it’s titled “Man from U.N.C.L.E.”? I really don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

